top of page

20 facts about me

I figured that most people are nosey buggers and love this sort of post - plus I did something similar on Instagram two years ago - so here goes nothing:

1: I am only 5 ft 2 inches tall, a shorty! My 12 year old is as tall as me. I hated being short at school I was always the smallest in the year. I would still love to be taller.

2: I was born in the London Borough of Sutton. Last month I turned 38, people kindly think I am much younger, although I haven't been asked for ID in a while, I think the last time I got ID'd was in Morrisons, I was 34 and buying apple cider vinegar!

3: I met Lee (my now husband) in 1997 when I was 16, meaning this year we will have been together for 22 years. We didn't get married until 2015. I was pregnant with our first child at the age of 24 and was terrified that my family would be angry, stupid really looking back on it now (and no they were't angry, okay my Nan was, she called me a stupid girl).

4: I have a distinction in Art and Design but I didn't want to take it any further and shunned going to uni and instead got a job.

5: I worked for the local newspaper in Croydon for 16 years, first as a photographic assistant and then, after the kids, an editorial assistant. I got made redundant in the summer of 2016 and haven't looked back.

6: Five years ago I got a bit bored of my look and changed my hair colour four times in the space of six months. I went from blonde to red then dark brown to dip dyed. People are pretty blatantly honest and I got told I look better blonde.

7: I have realised I don't like heights. I am okay as long as I am holding onto something but the thought of abseiling terrifies me.

8: I have four cats and a dog. I am strongly on team cat though. Three of our cats are old ladies now at 17 and the other 2 are almost 16.

9: If I can't afford something I make it myself (if I can) - hence why I made all of our wedding decorations.

10: I don't drive. Apparently I am a good driver but I failed my driving test 3 times in a row in my teens. This was due to major anxiety and nerves (plus I struggle with reversing). I'll probably have a bash again someday but I am okay walking. I walk around 6 miles a day.

11: The few hours a week that I work at my kids school is mentally exhausting, I could never be a teacher. I am apparently too nice.

12: I started working as a VA (virtual assistant) about 18 months ago and I love it. It can be overwhelming fitting everything in and being self employed for the first time felt pretty scary, but it is the best move I ever made.

13: I am quite partial to violent TV shows like Dexter, Sons of Anarchy and Vikings.

14: I collect old glass bottles, much to my husbands annoyance, I have two shelves full of them.

15: I love fashion but can be very lazy with my appearance, I haven't had a hair cut in a year and a lot of my clothes are second hand ones. My style in what most would class as boho (not to be mistaken for hobo) - I once got called "festival mum" because of my love of fringed boots and hippy style clothes.

16: My favourite colour is turquoise and it is also my birth stone. I have loved crystals and hippy style stuff since I was a kid and have lots of crystals and incense indoors. I also love native American style and have collected lots of trinkets over the years. I spent a while making dream catchers and trying to sell them on Etsy. I realised for the time and materials I was using I wasn't turning a profit so now I only make them for friends.

17: I would love to travel more, I guess we all would, I haven't left the country since 2008 and all of our passports have expired.

18: I am a very anxious person. I have been described in the past as calm, patient, serene... but inside I am a huge worrier. I am also an empath, I feel what others around me are feeling. I find it very hard to say no to people and if I can I will help anyone out. Again this sounds very hippy but I am a great believer in karma and giving gratitude which means I try and make sure I am a good person and thankful for all things that come my way, if that makes sense?

19: If I had my time again I think I would train as a genealogist. I find it fascinating and researching our family tree is my guilty pleasure.

20: I may come across to some as shy or unsociable. In all honesty I am very content and can happily sit in a room and not speak to anyone. But I can turn it on when I need to, although public speaking still scares me.

bottom of page